Biryani: Our Friday Ritual

Biryani has a great influence in our Friday rituals since I opened my eyes in this world. Every Friday, like a lot of other Pakistani Desi mothers, My Mother also sets to cook biryani as a compulsion. It’s like, it is not Friday if there is no Biryani. As I was born in KSA ( Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) and here, Friday is what we call our weekend, our weekly holiday and it has also been my father’s only WHOLE day at home, so, My mother just like a good wife knows that the path to my father’s heart is through his stomach and his stomach is addicted to friday Biryanis since forever. So, there is no leave for us (women) on weekends or holidays in typical desi families. What our mothers do and teach us to do as well is, on friday, when everyone else is enjoying their friday SUPER LOOONG sleeps ( that we can only envy), after your daily religious ritual (wudhu, 2 raka’a of nafal and some azkaar) she steps inside the kitchen. From there on she makes breakfast, washes dishes, help my family’s men get ready to go for Jummuah Prayers and then the Weekly Biryani Tradition starts with all the aroma of fried onion, garlic, spices and all that Tarka(frying), Bhunna (roasting) and Dum. And this rich, delicious and spicy rice and chicken’s dish is ready by the time, The Males of Home get back to home and then they’re served the lunch, that is, this so very tempting BIRYANI (believe me, I’m drooling even with the thought of it). And this biryani ritual goes on and on. This was about my Friday, what’s your Friday’s lunch ritual. Share with me by commenting below.

Sahar,

Her Dupatta Swag

Leave a Reply

